Store Menu

SMUMN Honors Five Leaders in Higher Education

[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”yes” overflow=”visible”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”no” center_content=”no” min_height=”none”]

(L-R) Michael Gostomski, Bro. Thomas Scanlon, FSC, Bro. William Mann, FSC, Bro. Mel Anderson, FSC, Bro. Louis DeThomasis, FSC, Bro. James Gaffney, FSC, and Bro. Michael McGinniss, FSC

Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota (SMUMN) honored five De La Salle Christian Brothers in a special ceremony February 13 at the university’s Twin Cities campus in Minneapolis. During the ceremony, SMUMN named a building for Brother Louis DeThomasis, FSC, president emeritus and pioneer in adult education.

Brothers Mel Anderson, Saint Mary’s College of California; James Gaffney, Lewis University; Michael McGinniss, La Salle University, Christian Brothers University; and Thomas Scanlan, Manhattan College, Bethlehem University, were honored for their years of service as college and university presidents. They each received honorary doctorates.

Located on SMUMN’s Minneapolis campus, Brother Louis Hall honors the 11th president of SMUMN, who served the institution from 1984 – 2005. This building was purchased in 2006 and currently houses classrooms, offices, and gathering spaces.

Read the full press release >