Store Menu

St. Joseph School, Keren, Eritrea

St. Joseph School in Keren, Eritrea, was founded in 1949 under the leadership of Brother Adriano Celentano, FSC, an Italian missionary. The school opened with 150 grade school students, two Brothers, and two lay teachers. It expanded to a junior high school in 1962 and added the secondary level in 1993. In recent years, St. Joseph’s School educated more than 1,700 students in grades one through 11.  

In September 2019, the Eritrean government nationalized St. Joseph School, meaning it took the school from the Brothers’ leadership. Since that time, the Brothers have not been able to serve in the school, but have been working to connect with young people in other ways. Before COVID-19the Brothers moved some of the activities previously held in the school into their community house, including sports clubs, Lasallian Youth and choir. They also hosted gatherings of young people from different parishes. Adapting to their new reality, their goal was to support children in need from any school. The Brothers plan to continue these activities and look to the future of how to serve young people in Keren when more COVID-19 restrictions are lifted. 

Summer/Fall 2020 Update >

Make a donation >

RELAN Twin Schools

Bishop Kelley High School
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contact: Jerri Berna
Email: jberna@bishopkelley.org

De La Salle Institute
Chicago, Illinois
Contact: John Brogan
Email: broganj@dls.org

Martin De Porres School
Springfield Gardens, New York
Contact: Ed Dana
Email: edana@mdp.org

St. Michael’s High School
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contact: Diahann Larson, AFSC
Email: dlarson@stmikessf.org

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
San Francisco, California
Contact: Greg Schmitz
Email: greg.schmitz@shcp.edu

Totino-Grace High School
Fridley, Minnesota
Contact: Andrew Million
Email: andrew.million@totinograce.org