Store Menu

Lasallian Colleges/Universities Worldwide Formalize Association

The International Association of Lasallian Universities (IALU) approved its bylaws at the February 2012 Encuentro in the Philippines as it moves towards incorporation in France. The action formalizes a longtime, unofficial collaboration between Lasallian colleges and universities.

The 44 founding IALU members represent the five regions of the association: North America, English-speaking Africa, and Bethlehem; Central America and South America; Mexico; Europe and French-speaking Africa; and Asia and the Pacific Islands. The IALU institutions are based in 16 countries and serve 250,000 students. The process to add more institutions is underway.

Brother William Mann, president of Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, serves on the IALU board and represents North America, Bethlehem, and English-speaking Africa. Other IALU member-institutions in the USA-Toronto Region are La Salle University, Philadelphia, PA; Lewis University, Chicago, IL; Manhattan College, Riverdale, NY; Saint Mary’s College of California, Moraga, CA; Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota, Winona, MN; Christian Brothers University, Memphis, TN; and Bethlehem University, Palestine.

Lasallian higher education institutions have informally worked together for years, with their presidents and academic vice presidents or deans meeting every three years since the late 1980s. They have met on 10 occasions, including three years ago in Philadelphia, PA. They will meet again in three years in Bogota, Columbia. The formalization of IALU will enhance visibility of the network, create a way to respond to challenges, and recognize their common Lasallian heritage.