Store Menu

LEC July Meeting Outcomes

The Lasallian Education Council (LEC), formerly RCLAM, met July 30 and 31 in Chicago, IL, with an agenda that included policy work, statistics review, planning for the future, and more.

The LEC reviewed a draft copy of the policy handbook which will guide the work of the Council and the Executive Director. Also focusing on policy, Janet Ruggiero, San Francisco District Director of Board Formation, presented a workshop on a Policy Governance model which promotes accountability of Boards of Trustees. The workshop focused on the history of the Policy Governance Model, the development of a Board’s Policy handbook, the role of the Board and Executive Director, and more.

The Council also took part in its own continuing formation led by Brother Kevin Convey which included discussion of chapter two of John Baptist de La Salle: Founder, Educator, Saint, a study guide published by the San Francisco District.

Dr. Maggie McCarty, Executive Director of the Office of Lasallian Education, presented an overview on trends in Regional statistics and their implications for the LEC’s work in regards to mission, education and formation.

The members evaluated the work of the Council and the Executive Director after one full year of operation and discussed the future. In a visioning session led by Loras “Red” Sieve, AFSC, they focused on the future of the Office of Lasallian Education and the role of the LEC in shaping the future in RELAN.

The LEC selected Dr. William Hudson, President of Totino-Grace High School in Fridley, MN, as the new Vice Chair. Other officers are: Gery Short, Chair, San Francisco District Director of Education, and Alan Weyland, Recording Secretary, District of Eastern North America Executive Director of Mission and Ministry. Short replaces Brother Robert Wickman as chair, who remains on the Council. Mifrando Obach was commended at the final luncheon for his work on the Council as he steps down in anticipation of his move to Singapore.

The next meeting of the LEC will take place in November 2012 in Washington, D.C. following the conclusion of the Huether Lasallian Conference.